Tags

, , , , ,

Andrew Holder’s work combines some of my favorite mediums: acrylic, airbrush, silkscreen and pen and ink.  My father uses all of these in his work as well, so I’m sure I’m drawn to Andrew’s work in part because I’m a fan of such techniques.  But I also am truly fascinated about what motivates Andrew’s earthy, yet cutting-edge, style that makes his work most unique.  Thankfully, he shared some of his work along with a bit of insight into what moved him to make these pieces.  And now I’m even more enamored with his work…

Two Bears Revisited- 22″ x 30″, 5 color screen print
Sun Chaser- Acrylic, graphite and ink on paper.
Most of the time I tend to use a lot of color in my personal work.
This was not one of those times.


Mountain Town- 22″ x 30″, 4 color screen print
This is an older one.  If this was an actual place I would live there.
High Tide Low Tide- 18″ x 24″, Acrylic and airbrush on panel
I like the idea of being able to hang a painting different ways. 
I seem to do this a lot (see two bears revisited).

 

Elephantom- 9″ x 12″, Mixed media on panel.
Dear Heads-
These Trophy Dear Heads (created from more different media than I care to list) are favorites of mine even though I made then a few years ago.  I wish I had the time to create more pieces of this scale.  

 Andrew’s Site: http://andrewholder.net/index.php

