Tags

, ,

Erica Sharp is a London-based illustrator who creates delicate paper-cut illustrations using pen and ink and Japanese washi paper.  Her work is elegant, whimsical and largely fashion-inspired with a flair for childhood fancies.  I’m in awe of her talent and intuitive way of creating work that really speaks to the soul.  Here is what she had to say about some of her work.

Maya
I created the girl’s face as a line drawing without plans for how I
would embellish the piece.  I just went with my instincts, and went wild
with the paper and it worked!  I had images of an exotic princess from a
distant land, abundant in nature and colour.
Teya

I created this after a visit to Bali.  I loved the people and the
colours, and the traditional dancing was mesmerising. I combined elements
of colour, nature and the traditional costume that I remembered from this
trip.
Naima

I had images of a carefree girl on a beach in a long, flowing
dress.  The red patterns are reminiscent of palm leaves.  I always like to
include an element of nature in my work.
Emma

I love the expression on the girl’s face, she is shy, she is
thinking.  I had images of a demure English rose.  I wanted to evoke the
simplicity of femininity and beauty in this piece.
Sally

I created this in the summer after a day visit to Brighton- I love
the British seaside! I wanted to capture the freshness of a summer’s day
by the ocean.  And I love nautical fashion, it’s so chic!
Tomoka

My Mother’s side of family are Japanese, my Grandmother was a
traditional dance teacher- she has hundreds of gorgeous kimonos.  When a
lady wears kimono she becomes so elegant and beautiful.  I have added
delicate layers reminiscent of the patterns seen on kimono.
Follow Erica on Twitter
Erica on Etsy
