Tags

, ,

Zaria Forman grew up traveling the world to remote landscapes watching her mother shoot fine art photography.  She fell in love with the forces of nature that made her realize how small we are next to them, and began drawing them herself.  The result has been a captivating ongoing body of work that is hauntingly beautiful and exquisitely tranquil.  Zaria says she finds the act of drawing meditative and hopes the viewer shares such a calming escape.  Mission accomplished.  Here is what she had to say about some of her work:


All images below are Chalk Pastel on paper (no, they’re not photographs!)…

Greenland #27 66×50
Greenland #35 41×50

With my Greenland series I attempt to capture the ephemeral properties of arctic light. I am interested in the element of water and how it absorbs and reflects the light in its various forms. The forms that we easily recognize are water, cloud, and fog; these are essential elements that inspire my compositions. I am also interested in the transition between these states and enjoy the challenge of translating such sublime experiences into my work. The different forms of illuminated water give rise to the dreamy, atmospheric scenes that I hope will transport the viewer to this remote region of the earth.
Svalbard #6 50×60

Svalbard #31 58×40

My inspiration for drawing began early in my life. Throughout my childhood my family traveled all over the world to remote landscapes, which were the subject of my mother’s fine art photography. I developed an appreciation for the beauty and vastness of the ever-changing sky and sea. I loved watching a far-off storm on the western desert plains; the monsoon rains of southern India; and the cold arctic light illuminating Greenland’s waters. In my work I explore moments of transition, turbulence and tranquility in the landscape and their impact on the viewer. In this process I am reminded of how small we are when confronted with the powerful forces of nature. The act of drawing can be a meditation for me, and my hope is that the viewer can share this experience of tranquil escape when engaging the work.
Israel #2 45×60

Israel #3 52
Israel #2 was inspired by the coastline of Tel-Aviv.  When I travelled there I was fascinated with the waters of the Mediteranean which were saturated with rich hues and simultaneously transparent and luminous.  I took on the enjoyable challenge of capturing this rich contrast, rendering the the golden sand and it’s reflection in smooth pastel.  The sea foam was created in layers, evoking the bubbly essence of a crashing wave.
Visit Zaria’s site: http://zariaforman.com/
