Tags

, , ,

Lilli Carre’s art is oh so delightful in many ways.  First, she is an extraordinary artist.  Can’t really go wrong with that gift.  Second, she has a style that is reminiscent of a former age- as in the early days of cartooning- that seems to take us back a bit in time, and provoke some reflection as well as a healthy dose of wit, at least in this viewer.  Third, she makes statements with her work that further that reflection, as in her pieces for various publications like The New York Times, Penguin Classics and This American Life, to name a few.  You get the gist- now let’s have this amazing, smart, unique work speak for itself:

ANEMONE

A comic strip that I made for the Believer Magazine. Characters are

 

frequently losing their heads in my work.

 

IOWA

 

This is an illustration I made for a New York Times Op-ed piece that

 

featured essays about finance in different cities. My illustration is

 

of people standing in line to put in their names for the weekly

 

emergency assistance lottery in Iowa City.

 

DORADO PARK

 

This is a panel from a book of my comics called Nine Ways to

 

Disappear. The story this panel is from is called “Dorado Park.”

 

NINE WAYS PRINT

 

I designed a print to go with the aforementioned book, which

 

incorporates a few elements from the stories into one image.

 

DREAM ACCORDION

 

I recently made a four-color silkscreened accordion book about a dream

 

that can’t be shaken.

 

TIKBALANG

 

I was invited to illustrate a creature that is thought at one point to

 

exist for the Fantagraphics book “Beasts! 2”. I chose the Tikbalang

 

from Philippine folklore, an elongated beast who lives in the forests

 

and tricks travelers into getting lost forever.

 

WATER MAN

 

This guy is one of a series of little animated loops I’ve been making lately.

 

