Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Joyce Hesselberth is one half of the Spur Design team.  Her illustrations caught my eye immediately because of their handmade quality and eye-catching simplicity.  But even more, her work is unquestionably deeply layered with meaning, which can keep you fixated for quite a while.  Together with David Plunkert, Joyce has produced award-winning work for Adobe, Capitol Records, MTV and the Academy of Sciences, to name a few.  Communication is key to her work, and you can see why.  Here is what Joyce had to say about her work:
One of my big projects lately has been A Child’s Book of Animal Poems and Blessings. It’s a collection of poems from many different poets and gathered from many different cultures: from African pygmy, to Lewis Carroll, Cochiti Indian. I absolutely loved having an excuse to draw animals all day. It’s published by Skinner House and is available here:


Fish head is a recent piece I did to help promote a local art festival. The festival took place by a river and the client wanted to reference the idea of the river in the art. We designed banners, t-shirts, print ads, posters around this piece.


This is for the Chronicle Review. The story was about the life of an editor. I’ve noticed that whenever I can work a bird into the illustration, I am happy (especially when the story has absolutely nothing to do with birds). A lot of my work is based around strong, simple shapes, and this one is no exception.
A piece on childhood obesity for The New York Times. The story talked about how the path to obesity may start at a younger age than we realize.
This piece was for The Wall Street Journal (European version). It was about agents who are finding the next great thriller books in foreign markets. I like working in black and white sometimes. It’s a nice change of pace. My favorite thing about this piece though was the dog in the lower right. Who knows, he may be the next great fiction writer.
