Tags

, ,

Frankie Picasso is a coach who gives new meaning to the word ‘impossible.’  In fact, she turns the word around entirely, coaching people into believing that “I Am Possible!”  A life coach, author, extraordinary Blogtalk Radio host, and supporter of the OVC foundation (Orphans and Vulnerable Children), Frankie is one person who helps people make the changes in their lives they’ve been wanting to make and become who they’ve always dreamed they could be.

Love and Water- Can you talk about the incredible work you do with coaching as well as your radio shows and your book?

Frankie Picasso- I’m a master coach trainer, which means I train coaches and organizations, or I coach people at a level that is the highest level you can get in coaching.  I’m also an author- my book is called “Midlife Mojo”  and I’m a radio host at three different radio shows.  One is called “Mission Unstoppable,” which is my flagship show where I interview people who have been unstoppable in their lives in getting what they want.  I say I specialize in the impossible, because I champion people who have impossible dreams and I help them turn them into unstoppable outcomes.  If you look at the word ‘impossible,’ it starts with the words ‘I am possible.’  I have the Frankie and Johnny Music Hour, which is a music show for professional musicians.  Some are well known and others are slightly above anonymous, but they all make great music.  There is so much talent that isn’t always recognized.  I play drums and Johnny was also a drummer and a client of mine.  Giving him the role as co-host was a way to help him take leadership because he wanted to lead a band and didn’t believe he could do it.  He is now on hiatus because he has gone to Toastmasters, so I have another co-host, Wendy Allen, who is a great singer-songwriter who is helping me with the show.  The “Love Wranglers” is my latest show.  It is a show I do with Kelly Wallace, a colleague of mine who I have just finished a book with called “No Bull.”  It’s a relationship show where we’re called the “no bull relationship gals” and we offer advice for men and women who want to find true love and want to live in the relationship of their dreams.  We help them get rid of the excuses to get there.  Unstoppable Planet is another area that I started.  It’s one of my dreams because I consider myself a global-change agent and I look for others around the others who are doing things to foster change around the world.  So each week on my website I put up a new cause of the week hoping to shine a light on a cause that means something to me and that other might want to participate in as well.

FP- I’ve met so many people through Mission Impossible, and have been inspired by them.  Each person who has been a guest on my show is so grateful that I’ve read their books, and that I actually have read up on what they’re all about.  But I find them compelling and inspiring, and make it my own mission to learn as much as possible about them before they come on the show.  Like Mary McManus, for example- Mary is incredibly inspiring and a phenomenal person who has survived post-polio syndrome and ran the Boston Marathon.

L&W- Can you talk about how you work with your clients as a coach and the kinds of results you’ve been able to help them achieve?

FP- I actually specialize in change.  As a coach we have what I call transformational conversations.  When people want to achieve their goals there is usually something stopping them from achieving them- it could be fear of failure or fear of success.  When I coach we get into the reasons why they want something, why they don’t have it and then we find solutions to help them get there.  In a lot of people we have what we call in coaching “underlying automatic commitment.”  The commitments we know about are ones we’ve made to another person, like saying you are going to get married.  That’s a commitment you’ve made to someone else.  But there are also commitments we’ve made to ourselves, such as a commitment to not achieve a goal because you have subconsciously made a pact with yourself to not have that.  Or when we get upset and we reach for candy or chocolate, that is also a commitment.  Those usually stem from our childhood and we’ve created them to give ourselves temporary relief.  It’s hard to think about that because it’s not always conscious.  So I help people look at what they believe and to challenge those beliefs in order to move past the blocks that are keeping them from getting what they want.

L&W- Can you give and example of how you can help someone change such a subconscious self-commitment through the coaching process?

FP- For example, when I was in a severe motorcycle accident I ended up in a hospital for five and a half months.  I had broken both femurs and hips, my pelvis and practically every bone below my waist.  When I went to physiotherapy and the therapist said she wanted me to move my leg, I kept looking at it and thinking “I can’t.”  The therapist was explaining to me that there was no reason I couldn’t, and if I didn’t there would be dire consequences.  And I sat there and thought about it and I thought that I didn’t want to be paralyzed, so I needed to move it, but I still couldn’t do it.  I then realized that I was committed to not moving it because I knew it was going to hurt.  So once I convinced myself to move it even though it was going to hurt, I did it and was then committed to moving it from there on in.  Another example is in the area of weight loss for women.  If you weave the thread back into weight loss and why you think it’s so important to you to lose weight all the time, we can often find the one instance that caused you to make a commitment- it could be a comment someone close to you made that hurt your feelings or something a stranger said.  Once we find it we can go in and change the story so that it becomes achievable.  Once you change your perspective, everything changes.  If you’ve ever fallen madly in love, you know how it feels to have your whole world looking rosy and amazing and you are happy.  If you have a fight, the whole world seems dark and black and you can’t wait for the day to end.  The world hasn’t changed, but your perspective has.  So if there is something you are committed to that isn’t serving you we can work together to change your perspective so that you can move past it and achieve what you want.

L&W- I understand you are working with an orphanage in Rwanda- can you talk about that?

FP- I’ve worked with lots of different agencies and orphanages across Africa, and the one that I’m currently working with is called OVC, Orphans and Vulnerable Children.  This particular orphanage was started by Emanuel in Kigali who was a child of the genocide and was an orphan himself, so he knows what it’s like for children there who are on the streets.  So he started this orphanage, which is absolute bricks and mortar walls- very bare bones.  He has been in touch with me for about a year now, and is so engaging and is looking for outside help.  They have no money at all and about one hundred children who they feed everyday.  Around fifty of them sleep in the community but come to the orphanage each day for food.  About a month ago a mudslide took out their kitchen and their washroom, which was a basic outhouse.  He has written and asked me to help him secure funding to rebuild.  I had this idea to have the children draw pictures and send them to us, and we could turn them into paintings and show them around the country in order to raise more awareness about the plight of this organization.  Currently the biggest problem for him is finding a computer and scanner to get the pictures to me.  He has to go to an internet cafe, which is very expensive and he can’t find the money to get the pictures out.  Recently, Mary McManus was on my radio show and was talking about the Rotary Club in Rwanda for post-polio survivors, and I had asked her if that club could help with finding Emanuel a computer and scanner.  A computer would help him communicate with the rest of the world and potentially help him raise more money for his orphanage.  All the children were recently forced to leave school, because they don’t have free education until they go to high school, so they couldn’t afford it anymore.  So they need help with that as well- it only costs $350.00 a year to send a child to school, so there is a lot of potential for Emanuel to find that funding if he were able to reach more people via email and social media outlets.

L&W- So it sounds like they need help on a daily basis as well.

FP- They definitely need help for daily needs.  The children range in age from 2-18, and many of them have HIV and other medical needs.  It doesn’t take much for us over here to give a little, and a little makes such a huge difference to their lives.  So anyone who wants to help can contact me or the OVC and make a contribution.  It will be appreciated more than you can imagine.

L&W- Where can we find your book, “Midlife Mojo?”

FP- You can find my book on Amazon, at Barnes and Noble and through my website.  It’s a book about mid-life change, but also is a general prescription for change, so I’ve had people in their twenties read it and write to me to thank me for helping them understand how to go about making the changes they wanted to make.

Visit Frankie’s Coaching Site
Visit the Frankie and Johnny Music Hour
Visit The Love Wranglers
Visit the “Midlife Mojo” Site
Visit the OVC site

Visit Blogtalk Radio Frankie and Johnny Music Hour
Visit Blogtalk Radio Mission Unstoppable

